Hope – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 14 (to prompt)

You moved me further than I thought to be moved,
I was only trying to follow your groove,
Yet when you found it, you pushed right on through,
I was only trying to reach the real you.

Do you need to push on, am I so hard to find?
Yes, when you hide yourself deep in your mind,
Yet I open myself now, share my heart true,
Through veils and dark wisps I still must push through.

It cannot be so! I give you my all!
Yet make me at times feel so very small,
It just cannot be, you speak surely in jest,
I wish I could feel like that less and less,

This makes no sense, we are only two,
And the one compromising is always who?
We both give way at various times,
Who pulls the strings and who makes the rhymes?

I am surprised, seems you feel we think different,
And now you will stand and puff your belligerence,
I cannot help but be who I am,
Yes, me the lady, and you, you the man.

How on earth does our gender a difference now make?
‘Cause I feel I’m giving whilst you smile and take,
That’s clearly not true, I give you all that I can,
You give me the things that just suit the man.

I cannot fathom what you want from me,
And there is the problem, now plain to see,
Yes, there is the problem, we both can agree,
Oh, why can’t you then be more like me?

And who are you, when you’re at home?
I’m kind and graceful, deep as a tome,
And you seem to see me just rough and ready?
I see you there standing tall, fixed and steady.

So, where’s the problem, what is the fault?
Maybe we’re set with a different default,
I don’t understand, what do you need?
That’s the point, that’s why I plead.

To be loved and cherished, taken care of?
Loved and respected, held like a dove,
Called to roost in a cage, in a nest?
Free to fly, to return home to rest.

But this is your home, this is your nest,
Not with you in it as you are now, you jest,
What of the love we held shiny and new?
I think it has tarnished, overgrown with mildew.

I cannot believe what I’m hearing, what you say,
It’s time to be looking towards a bright new day,
Together, apart, what do you mean?
This is your choice, can you live a new scene?

What’s wrong with this old one, I don’t understand,
I think you just said it, it’s old, worn and bland,
How much must we change to discover this new life?
The fact that you ask cuts like a knife.

Do you mean you’ve been changing whilst I’m standing still?
Right now you must see it just as you will,
And if I make changes will you stand by my side?
So long as you flow and ebb with the tide.

Surely someone must decide just how we must be?
You think you’re qualified to say that for me?
Well, we must make our plans, know the how and the where,
So who will provide when it all becomes air?

I’m trying to make it right for us both,
I know, why I’ve loved you, held onto this boat,
So what now, my love, must I let go control?
It’s just an illusion to capture your soul.

But you have my soul, my soul and my heart,
So, let us, together, make a new start,
Then I must find a new way, the old one won’t do,
And I’ll stand beside you, help us both through.

Can it be like before, like when we first met?
It is just like then, everyday a new bet,
A risk to be taken, comfort falling away,
Moment by moment, new day by new day.

****
Today’s prompt is to write a poem using dialogue…and on and on it went! 🙂

For yesterday’s riddle, the poem was about an Easel. Thanks for playing with!  🙂

****
© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!