Tracking Hunters

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 27 – can you believe we’re almost there??? Today, I followed the prompt – and what a challenge. I wasn’t even sure, at first, that what I was writing was poetry! Then, as I continued writing, a pattern evolved so that, after a load of editing, I think this is poetry….?? 🙂

The prompt: “to write a poem with very long lines.”

Well, think I got that right at least! 🙂 …. Hope you enjoy!

****

I knelt to touch the tracks, two days old now, full of cracks,
And ridging edges like the wake of a passing ship on a smooth, smooth lake.
Above and to the left they’d tripped, a stem so newly bent that sap still oozed and dripped,
Life’s blood for a tracker, tracking a hunter, hunting an attacker.
This sign that I’d now found, confirmed my steps along the ground,
So, slipping bow from back and sliding arrows out of sack,
Knife resting wittingly in sheath, knees bent, I crept forward with stealth,
Slowly then speedily, smoothly and silently,
Years of training to kill.

Cresting a hill then dropping flat, before my eyes the group now sat.
No smoke, no sound, still-life held, with their surroundings they appeared to meld.
Notching arrow, loosing fast, one by one life did not last,
So, so soon the job was done, bodies strewn now one by one,
I stood and took the deepest breath, feeling void with so much death,
Knowing now my buddies protected, so they could carry on undetected,
I turned and headed back to camp, feeling air now cold and damp,
Slung my bow and stashed my arrows, listening to the songs of sparrows,
Years of training to kill.

****

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

2 comments on “Tracking Hunters

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

