Burning Days

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 26 (Not to prompt)

****

Dark days filled with warm collusion
Took my blood and boiled it
Stripped my skin and framed it
Left it out to dry
Displayed for all to see
And judge

I watched from afar
As children danced around a fire that was me
Undaunted by the tainted smell
By the touch
Of death
And the putrid satisfaction
Of those who wish to
Have more
See more
Die more

Chance took me afoot
Flying near the edge
Wings crisped by burning sunlight
Thrown out across the heavens to
Want more
Show more
Be more

Only one way left now

****

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

