The Seas Pull

wild-ocean_1920 x 1440 - takopix

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 25 (to prompt – see below)

****

I must go down to the sea again,
It pulls my heart each day;
The swish of water around my feet,
The sand, the sun, the spray.

I used to watch the sailing ships,
Sketch the seashore line;
Sails spread wide on tall, straight masts,
Wakes spread out behind.

Then, close to shore, the reel of rods,
Men trying to catch their lunch;
With the surfers and the swimmers,
Always ready to take their plunge.

On warm bright days, the air so clean,
Deep breaths and strolls a pleasure;
On blustery days when the waves pound in,
Nature taking measure.

I must go down to the sea again,
To watch the dolphins play,
Yet doubt they’ll see me very soon,
I live too far away!

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

****

Prompt: “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that begins with a line from another poem (not necessarily the first one), but then goes elsewhere with it……The idea is for the original to furnish a sort of backdrop for your work, but without influencing you so much that you feel stuck just rewriting the original!…..any poem will do to provide your starter line – just so long as it gives you the scope to explore. Happy writing!”

 

Okay, so my starter line is actually only half the first line from Sea Fever by John Masefield and not the full line – plus I have taken the more commonly anthologised version from ‘The Collected Poems of John Masefield (using the singular ‘sea’ rather than the original
‘seas’) but I hope you’ll come with me and enjoy this anyway! 🙂

 

6 comments on “The Seas Pull

  1. Great big smile when I got to your surprise ending, Rob! “Sea Fever”, is a poem I had to memorize in childhood and recite aloud in class….and then I recited it again once, when scattering the cremains of a beloved at sea…it’s one of my all-time favorite poems. Thank you for the smile, and the best thing I’ve read, so far, today!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

