Standing On The Edge

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 20 (not to prompt)

****

Hold me to a spirit that was
Pin me against a past tableau
Strip my soul of pent up action
Demand the drip, drip to torture
Insisting I endure the agony
Of memories and dark times

I shall take the bleached skull and raise it high
Reach out for understanding
For belief
As I fold into myself
Release expectation
Lose perception and perspective
Then stand alone on the white beach of time
Stranded
Lost
Crying from within with no succour in sight
As the dreaded night falls
And sunshine preys on my dreams
Mother moon takes me to her heart and bosom
Feeds me nightwash
Until I gulp and choke
And dark rivulets run down my chin
To soak up my shirt of dew and rain
And everything I see and touch
Brings me home again

****

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

3 comments on “Standing On The Edge

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

