Owner or Steward?

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo2016 – Day 16 (not to prompt)
****

When Kublai Khan his world decreed,
No-one answered, disagreed,
He owned the land, he owned the realm,
Those who argued he would overwhelm.

Oh, to be supreme as he,
To own the land, the sky, the sea,
Yet really…did he own it all?
With his death, where did it fall?

His chosen one already dead,
Kublai left it to the son instead,
So, who owns what at end of day,
As this planet spins in the Milky Way?

We fight and die over…over…well what?
A piece of land that’s worth a jot?
A bauble, some gold, a shell or some art,
Well, what would you give for a shot in the dark?

For I think that I own what I have while I’m here,
Forgetting the day when I’ll leave this blue sphere,
And then, when I’m gone, only space left behind,
Will people fight over all I thought mine?

Where is the value?

****

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane

4 comments on “Owner or Steward?

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

