Love Is Freedom

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 14 (to prompt – see below)

****

It took me time scrying the surface,
To find the truth that lay below,
So deep and buried, hidden far from view.
The surface briefly rippled, I nearly missed the hidden trace,
The truth that, as it came to light, I wondered should I know?
Yet, as this truth broke surface and brought me to my knee,
A surge of understanding from deep within me grew,
A soaring wave of hidden love that set my spirit free.

****

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

****

Hopefully, my brain fog has lifted! 🙂

The prompt: “Today’s prompt comes to us from TJ Kearney, who invites us to try a seven-line poem called a san san, which means “three three” in Chinese (It’s also a term of art in the game Go). The san san has some things in common with the tritina, including repetition and rhyme. In particular, the san san repeats, three times, each of three terms or images. The seven lines rhyme in the pattern a-b-c-a-b-d-c-d.”

Comment: I find eight lines in this rhyming pattern and in the example given so have gone with the eight rather than the seven…

2 comments on “Love Is Freedom

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

