Cherry Berry

For NaPoWriMo and GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 11 (to prompt)

****

Here I sit in the Coffee House,
My favourite one around,
The air is buzzing, vibrant,
Yet a comfortable feeling of Home.

The coffee smells as it roasts
In the brick-walled roastery,
Aromas delicately wafting through,
And each room a character to itself.

I tinkle on the piano,
In the smaller room with the tables,
Move to sit in the lounge,
Sipping on my cappuccino.

With people chatting quietly,
I give the business room a miss,
For today I don’t feel like business,
Have no plans anyway.

Winter is drifting in,
So I’ll skip the verandas two,
And the deck,
And end up by the bar,
Where the action happens.

Coffees are made,
Drinks are poured,
Bills are paid,
Friends and owners gather on wooden stools,
Familiarity so warm.

Then she glides through the wall … and my heart breaks again.

****

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

****

The Prompt: “Today, I challenge you to write a poem in which you closely describe an object or place, and then end with a much more abstract line that doesn’t seemingly have anything to do with that object or place, but which, of course, really does. An abstract, philosophical kind of statement closing out a poem that is otherwise intensely focused on physical, sensory details. Happy writing!”

3 comments on “Cherry Berry

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

