Of Memories and Feathers

For NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo 2016 – Day 7 (to prompt)
Today’s prompt is to write a Tritina (see below for the explanation).

****

Lightly dusted feathers
Memories of moments past
Left dwindling in dark places

Carried from their places
Drawn by flights of other feathers
Crooning gently from their gestational past

As time now leaves behind all past
Bemoaning echoes of lost places
Asking nothing new from feathers

Yet feathers still collect the past and hide now in new places

© Copyright 2016 Robin McShane

****

“The tritina is a shorter cousin to the sestina, involving three, three-line stanzas, and a final concluding line. Three “end words” are used to conclude the lines of each stanza, in a set pattern of ABC, CAB, BCA, and all three end words appear together in the final line.”

For added fun I created a repetitive pattern for the first letter of each line in each stanza plus other technical patterns – I’m sure you can spot them! Let me know if you do….

I know… I’m nuts!:)

 

 

 

13 comments on “Of Memories and Feathers

  1. I am not familiar with the tritina….but this looks like great fun that I might like to try, too 🙂 I think you’ve added a technical pattern you’ve to your choice of letters for the last word of each line…is that one of them?

    Liked by 1 person

      • Hmmm…now that I’m reading the instructions for the tritina…I think that I missed discovering any ‘additional technical pattern’ since those words must have been part of the tritina pattern itself, right? Or am I still confused?? I’m going to attempt this thing but forms like this perplex me to no end 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s the fun of these forms I find – writing within their framework then having to edit, find/use different words, etc., as I can get totally lost sometimes! 🙂
          Yes, you have to repeat the last words in each line in the appropriate pattern as indicated but the choice of those words, and their letters, can build its own pattern. Then I built a pattern with the first letter of each line in each stanza – a letter followed by the next in the alphabet and back to the original letter : LML, CDC, ABA.
          Then I also built in alliteration in each third line and the last phrase of the final line.
          I must say this was not my original plan, that was just to write the tritina, the rest just grew as I wrote! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

          • Wow! You’ve outdone yourself. It’s almost like a secret tritina treasure hunt 😉 Really very impressive. I found it difficult enough to just do the form according to the instructions! Ha. I enjoyed going back and reading yours anew now that I know about all the ‘built-in’s” you’ve added….thanks 😛

            Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

