Earthquake

** Apologies friends, for my absence – flu and MS do not good bedfellows make – absorbing all creative juices and changing them into something…well much, much less fun to share! Popping double vision into my brain as if to prove the alternative Universe really does exist and one doesn’t even have to search for it! Yet, putting your written words together on the screen in front of me (no matter how much I squinted) or trying to find a letter of the alphabet on any keypad or board to write any of my own, I’d need to contact NASA (and very helpful they were too!).
Anyway, with one eye closed, I will hopefully be able to catch up on some of your work soon.
In the meantime, a darkish scribble of my own – what makes you think I’ve been down? πŸ™‚

****

Earth Shivers
We shake
Mantle moves
We wake

Rippling in its need to change
To move forward
To grow
The planet shudders
Nothing is fixed

We are important
……….Only
……………To
……………….Us

Sharing
….In
……..Our
…………Collective
……..Each thought
…. Every action
Affects us all

Earth Shivers,
Settles
Lives lost
Living ruined
A few seconds

When do we see
….We have no control?
……..Situations evolve around us
…………We choose our response
…………Therein lies our only control
……..Over ourselves
….Over our contribution
To everything around us

Earth Shivers
We shake
Would
We wake
Before
Mantle moves

****
Β© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane

25 comments on “Earthquake

  1. I loved the ‘shape’ of this poem Rob, and it certainly gives a feel of uncertainty in life and change, which, of course, is the only constant.

    I hope you get well soon. I know when I am dealt a virus or an infection the impact of the MS upon it and vice versa is just huge. But we keep fighting and winning don’t we?! Take care and be gentle with yourself – advice I freely give but am not very good at when it comes to myself 😊.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Chris – thanks so much – for your comments on the poem (so true) and on my health. I am exactly the same with the ease of passing on advice yet often not listening myself! I had been booked to do a reading at a supper club last Saturday and decided to go ahead, dizziness, double vision and all, ha ha! ‘The show must go on!’ Fortunately, it was only 20 minutes or so and it was a great crowd so went really well (my drama training kicked in πŸ™‚ ) – but, boy, Sunday disappeared in a haze and a fog! πŸ™‚
      We really should know better shouldn’t we! On the other hand, I am getting tired of having to stop so many things and just decided ‘to heck with it, I’m not going to let these folks down!’ I must say, I enjoyed it so much, it was worth the after effects! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s all about balance isn’t it?! That word! As you say sometimes it is worth pushing through to do something we really want to do and deal with the consequences later. If we didn’t do that then MS would be winning in a big way and I dont think either of us is prepared to allow that to happen!😊

        Liked by 1 person

        • So true Chris! Maybe also about perspective and thinking. Sometimes, if I think I can, I can and vice versa! The brain is such a powerful tool and I often battle to find the balance (the gold pot at the end of the rainbow! πŸ™‚ ) as only know I’ve overdone it when I’ve overdone it – before that it’s just fear that I might! Such a pain – especially as the lines are continually changing!
          Yet you are right, we are, neither of us, prepared to be ‘taken out’ by our own immune system! How crazy is that?! πŸ˜•πŸ˜Š

          Liked by 1 person

      • Warriors Rob! That’s what we are! I went to the hairdressers this afternoon and had to get a taxi, which I hate but it’s the only way I can get there. Oh I could ask several different people for a lift there and back but I want to remain independent so a taxi it is. I dread it because I feel so vulnerable and still find it somewhat humiliating having to be physically helped out of the car by a stranger. But there is nothing like the ‘high’ I feel now I’m back knowing that I have done it 😊

        Like

        • Fantastic Chris – good for you! Can relate to all those feelings – especially as I have been stopped from driving for the last few months and taxis and public transport here are not really an option! Independence slowly being eroded but, as you say, we are Warriors indeed and, Wayward or not, I will make a plan!
          Enjoy your feeling of achievement, it is well earned! 😁

          Liked by 1 person

  2. So little is known about earthquakes (are seismologist not simply charlatans?), and so little do we know about ourselves–and for this we can blame our own internal charlatans.

    I really enjoyed the poem, Rob. Perhaps the darkness of tone mirrors your recent indisposition. But there is a well of riches where circumstance meets inspiration. You were there, and you are back. I am thankful for both.

    Like

      • On my agenda for today was to e-mail you to see if you were all right, since you have not appeared in your usual haunts for some time. But I come to my laptop and find your poem this morning, and your explanation for the absence. The best news is that it sounds like you are getting better. And then there’s the poem….so interesting, especially for the typography and shape on the page—it looks like an earthquake might feel, and truly expresses that sense of un-grounding, nothing stable, all movement and change. So glad you’re back, Rob! Be well.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you Cynthia. Like the earthquake, I’m rocking and rolling back to a semblance of health! Great to see you here and thanks for your caring and, as always, your comment. Much appreciated!

          Like

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

