The House I Knew – for ‘The Free Writing Challenge’

photo credit - morguefile.com

photo credit – morguefile.com

I sit on a step
Staring at a world
That has passed me by.

Too many years,
Too many moons,
Too many bars and chains,
Too many locks.

Now, in a freedom I cannot even explain
What do I do?
Where do I go?
How do I get there?

A car, making no noise
But a silent ‘swish’,
Passes me by,
Glides effortlessly down the street,
A street I knew well twenty years ago,
The street I grew up in,
And, turning on the step,
I view the house I grew up in.

Now someone else lives here,
Someone else’s children play,
Someone else dreams
In the room above,
My room,
Shared with my brother.

They found him dead there.

I said I didn’t do it.

No-one believed me.

****

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane

****

Word Count 129 (6 minutes)

I wrote this for the Free Writing Challenge, the topic being: “You leave prison after twenty years. You were innocent. The world as you knew it has changed. What’s the first thing you would do?”

As most of you will know this is not the kind of thing I do, but Juliet Qoey kindly nominated me and posted the challenge in one of her comments to me – how could I refuse? Besides, it’s Saturday so a bit of fun is in order, yes? A visit to Juliet’s blog Poetry and idealism will be fun for you too and offer some idealistic insights (paraphrasing her words! :))

As with these things, there are always some rules – which I will promptly break! – following my rule that boundaries and rules only exist to be stretched, twisted and broken – if seen at all! – which also allows me to break my own rule to follow a rule, if you get my drift?! 🙂

I’m supposed to nominate fellow bloggers to take the challenge. Instead, I prefer to leave it entirely up to you whether you wish to have a few minutes of creative writing fun or not – there really are too many of you whose writing I admire for me to list just 5!

If you do take the challenge, a ping-back will be nice please, so that I can read it!?

Okay, here’s how it works (the ‘other’ rules – again adapted!):

1. Open your word processor.
2. Time yourself using a stopwatch or mobile.
3. Your topic is at the bottom of this post.
4. Fill in the doc with as many words as you like. You can either write poem or prose.
5. Don’t use spellcheck and don’t edit. You need not worry about spelling or grammar errors. The aim is for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and ability to write.
6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals – up to your creative flow.
7. At the end of your post, write down the number of words = and the timeframe.
8. Do not forget to copy and paste the entire passage on your blog post, with a new topic for your nominees, at least 5 of them, (okay I left that one in for those of you so inclined! 🙂 ) as well as copying and pasting these rules.

Your topic is:
Love between machines – fact or fiction?

Have fun!
Rob

4 comments on “The House I Knew – for ‘The Free Writing Challenge’

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

