Meeting Beelzebub – #1

meeting beelzebub 2 - june 5 2015 - morguefile

Beelzebub came to meet me in Cherry Lane,
Lined with Honey Blossoms and Jakarandas,
Flowers blooming.

I stood my ground, wondering what he could want,
It was simple, as it always is,
He wanted me.

My soul and I, waiting on his move, watched closely,
Fretting on past deeds, thoughts and feelings,
Quickly, my life passed before me.

Unexpectedly, after all, it was just an afternoon’s stroll,
I grasped my chest, fell to my knees,
Pain ringing through.

He grunted, smiled, flicked his flagrant tail, tossed his head,
Finger beckoning, he grinned,
“Yes, you have sinned!”

A horn sounded, loud, clear, pure, from above resounded,
Angels appeared, with winged chariots,
What a movie!

Beelzebub took a step back, watching warily,
A shining Angel with golden wings flew down,
“Where has he sinned? “

Beelzebub shifted uncomfortably, tail still,
“Well, you can’t blame me for trying,
He almost agreed.”

“We can, we do and he didn’t. Begone! ”
Beelzebub snickered, flickered and left,
” Come with us.”
“You bet! “

****

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane

To explain: I wrote the last three days poems several weeks ago. The above was the first, which led to the second (posted yesterday) and then the idea to make that into a villanelle (posted on Thursday). All written one after the other, within a few hours. then left to brew, then edited and edited… and edited! I decided to try a villanelle as I haven’t written to a ‘classical’ style for a while, and felt to challenge myself (!) to try a tight form again! Not sure if it was a good idea to try and adapt or whether I should have written from scratch? Any ideas?

Don’t you find the creative process just fascinating? I love to see how we are all inspired differently, express ourselves individually and write uniquely!

1. I would love to hear your comments on these, and the process they took; and
2. Anyone care to share your creative process? What sparks your ideas and how do you get to a final product?
Please share, I am so intrigued by this process and how we are all so different….

For myself, my process varies – from idea to paper within a short period (sometimes with only a little editing) to poems, prose and music composed many moons ago (some many years!), then brought out, dusted off, twisted, tweaked and, sometimes, terminated! 🙂 Ideas just enter my head – sometimes the first few words and sometimes the first few lines – I very rarely see something and think to write a poem! My brain works more with words, thoughts, principles and sounds more than pictures, smell, taste, touch, etc….and yours?

Wishing you all a magical weekend…:)

9 comments on “Meeting Beelzebub – #1

  1. Actually, I like the spontaneity of the first. I rarely polish anything. Writing and photographing on a daily basis doesn’t allow for that. In another medium, artwork, I almost always polish so much that I lose the life from it, and am left wishing I left it alone much earlier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Derrick. Very interesting to see the different approaches! Looks like time is the issue? When you have time you polish (and I can relate to polishing too much when I was performing musically I was always searching for the ‘perfect’ sound until I realised that most of the audience didn’t understand, or care! :). Certainly relate to posting every day and how that just doesn’t give time to polish but I enjoy your posts just as they are – informative, informal, a walk through your day and days! Great stuff!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! Hope you have a magical Sunday! (will read it later hopefully! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. By the way, I just noticed your 666 road sign. A year ago I had to move and was looking at houses to buy. I rejected one with the street number address, 666 and now live across the street at #665! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the poem improves with each revision, in the sense that it gets more and more into careful language. (Not sure what I mean by that!) I notice you’ve eliminated the angels after the first version. Do you know why you did that? The second version is the cleanest, for meaning, in my view. The villanelle, I think could be re-thunk just a bit to prove the best of all. I think it needs a better, stronger idea than a “refrain”, even though itself IS a refrain!
    This has been very interesting, Rob. For me, a poem starts as a wordless image or feeling (rarely as an abstract idea) that stews until it finds some few words, and then other words come from the first words….as if the language itself generates more language. I tinker a lot with a poem, over time, letting it rest in between tinkerings, until, at some point, it seems almost as if it had written itself. That’s on the good days! Sometimes, when I return to read a finished poem, I wonder who wrote it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the detailed input Cynthia – am out for the evening – can I answer tomorrow? Unable to read all your comment on my phone screen! 🙂 – thanks!

      Like

    • Thanks for your comments and for sharing your creative process Cynthia.
      I understand what you mean by moving into ‘more careful language’ I think – the process of finding ‘better’ words and phrases in order to refine the ideas and imagery to achieve a more expressive/rounded result? Something akin to your own process, yes?
      The Angels in the first poem only appeared after writing the other two as the poem felt incomplete. I left them, and any representation of the character’s ultimate direction, out of the subsequent poems to leave them more open ended and let the reader choose.
      Yes, I can that the villanelle needed more work – I was just so happy to have got it where it is! 🙂
      Which leads me nicely to your creative process! I think if I had ‘tinkered’ a little more, I could have improved all three.
      Love your process – thank you for sharing.
      The abstract finding it’s own words which then improves on itself – fantastic. I am doubtful that this would happen without all your experience and talent though!
      I can relate to reading previous work and wondering who wrote it – I find quite amusing yet fulfilling at the same time! 🙂
      Really appreciate your time and effort for your input Cynthia, it means a lot – and I wish you a magical day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

