Living with MS

Walk with me this morning
Hold my left hand tight
I’ll grasp cane in my right
Push forward with all my might

Yet all my might means little
As strength and muscles ebb
Thank goodness for the ‘net
And the world wide web

I can meet my friends on line
Talk and laugh and share
When the legs don’t let me walk
I can trust they’ll always be there

So getting out is no big deal
When the body calls its shots
When balance, brain fog, muscles
Say “Walking and driving…Not!”

My chair becomes my comfort zone
The place I cannot fall
My old friend the computer
A Window to it all

I can research things to help
Talk with friends both old and new
And write and write and write
In between the odd old snooze!

Living with MS
A new way to see the world
Everything now changing
With every moment unfurled

(Providing my leg stops jumping
Long enough for me to type! :))

****

ยฉ Copyright 2015 Robin McShane
As per this blog’s copyright statement
Thank you

17 comments on “Living with MS

  1. Hi Rob. My mom (Elizabeth Crawford Katch) sent me your post in my email. Didn’t know it was there until today. I was diagnosed with tumefactive MS this last November. It has been a struggle just accepting my disease. I can relate to your chair becoming your comfort zone as mine has become for me. I don’t worry about falling or losing my balance when I am in my chair. The net has become my escape. I can talk to people around the world and, for the most part, they accept me as I am. Of course that’s easy because there is no physical contact and I don’t have to worry about what someone thinks of me. Thank you for this post. It’s good to know there are others out there who feel the same way I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, Sara – acceptance is the name of this game of ours yet can be so illusive! Not sure where you are in the world but there are many MS societies and boards, blogs, etc.
      All of us finding our way through this process and helping each other – many feeling the way you do! You are not alone!
      So pleased my post helped you – am playing with the idea of starting an MS blog but time and available energy will be the deciding factors in the end – as they often are!
      I wish you all the best with your process and you’re welcome to drop in here anytime and if you would like you can email me anytime on: robmcshane7@gmail.com.
      Take care. Rob

      Like

  2. Wow Rob, well said and of course I relate. We have both posted about our MS today! I loved what you said in reply to Derrick. It’s all very true and we have many new blessings to replace some of the lost ones. And as you so rightly say, our appreciation of the small gifts in life and each moment, are much heightened! We will hang on in there! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Rob, I can relate to so much of what you write, although I have a different type of auto-immune disease and am largely mobile.
    I’ve been hosting a blue wombat for the last month or so which is touring the globe to promote my disease. The umbrella term is myositis and I have dermatomyostis. I’ve enjoyed talking so many photos of Wally both to share our Australian wonders with people overseas but also to get the word out about our disease. People tend to suffer terribly because of the slow diagnosis path.
    Anyway, I took Wally to the Opera House the other day and you might find it interesting. Not an easy job trying to promote a rare, unpronouncible disease https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/sydney-opera-house-new-perspectives/
    Hope you are going well xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good for you Rowena and thanks for your comment! Amazing how the medical fraternity like our whackee, unpronounceable terms (even we have to break them down and practice! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Will go check your link!
      Many thanks and good luck! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Rob. It’s important to get the word out. I relate a lot to MS and was pretty convinced I had it prior to my diagnosis. I’ve found it quite stimulating having Wally staying with me. I am actually wondering whether I could attract some media attention precisely because he is so unknown, all but invisible. I have been blogging with a young woman who has some diagnosis but it seems to be only part of the picture and it’s really getting her down. It’s so hard for people with the rare chronic conditions and there might be so much to help them if only they had a diagnosis!

        Like

    • There are advantages Derrick – I get to park close to shops; I don’t have many time constraints; got to know who my friends are! Plus, learn to appreciate each and every moment! Also came to realise that the goals I had in life – money, position, possessions, etc. Etc. Are really not the important things – not what they’ re cracked up to be.
      And I get to meet, read and share with great people like yourself! All in all, not a bad swap, I say! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for your concern!

      Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

