Chaucer in short! – NaPoWrimo 2015 – Day 21 (to prompt)

Folk and pilgrimes ride,
Shortly spoken, made to rise,
While time and space,
This tale pace,
To tellen you
The condition, what they were
A knight, a worthy man, firste began

****

The prompt today is ‘erasure’ – “taking a pre-existing text and blacking out or erasing words, while leaving the placement of the remaining words intact.”
I have changed it somewhat by moving the words but the original is below and I have italicized the words there.

The page is page 3 of Chaucer’s Prologue to The Canterbury Tales:

Of sondry folk, by aventure yfalle
In felawship, and pilgrimes were they alle,
That toward Canterbury wolden ride.
The chambres and the stables weren wide,
And wel we weren esed atte beste.
And shortly, whan the sonne was gon to reste,
So hadde I spoken with hem everich on,
That I was of hir felawship anon,
And made forword erly for to rise,
To take onre way ther as I you devise.
But natheles, while I have time and space,
Or that I forther in this tale pace,
Me thinketh it accordant to reson,
To tellen you alle the condition
Of eche of hem, so as it semed me,
And whiche they weren, and of what degre;
And eke in what araie that they were inne:
And at a knight than wol I firste beginne.

A knight ther was, and that a worthy man,
That fro the time that he firste began

I think I have ended up with more a synopsis of the work than a poem! Ah well – twas fun, ere the twilight shun! 🙂

****

2 comments on “Chaucer in short! – NaPoWrimo 2015 – Day 21 (to prompt)

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

