Sedition – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 19 (off prompt)

Take me where the paths are hidden,
Take me where the flowers grow,
Take me to the great beyond,
To places I may never know.

Hide me in your loving arms,
Protect me far from sight,
Open wide the doors of self,
Lead me to the light.

For somehow I feel frozen,
Imprisoned by my mind,
Where eagles fly and shadows fail,
Seems far for me to find.

Yet knowing, now, perceptions rife,
Each unto their own,
Should another guide my life?
Have all my senses flown?

Standing back and taking stock,
Trapped within my view,
I hear society’s cry and call,
Its diarrhea, its spew.

For all of us are culturally bound,
Tied up in thought, tradition,
Breaking free of all these trappings
Labelled as sedition.

So, take me from the hidden paths,
Where flowers cannot grow,
Guide me to the great beyond,
Past places that I know.

And I will listen to the things you say,
Give credit where it’s due,
Feel your lead, find my way,
Let destiny accrue.

****

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane
As per this blog’s copyright statement
Thank you

2 comments on “Sedition – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 19 (off prompt)

    • Thank you Christine. Yes, it’s different to write and post on the same day! I usually let the writing sit, simmer and mature first, allowing for editing improvements so it’s quite a leap of faith to only have a few hours to write, edit and post! I only receive the prompts after 3 in the afternoon here! A great challenge indeed! I am enjoying it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

