Darkness To Dawn – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 6 (to prompt)

I reach for you in the slumbering dawn,
Feel empty sheets, now lost and forlorn,
Sigh as I turn to take up your space,
Recalling your touch, your eyes, your embrace.

I open my sight to this plain, barren place,
Wonder anew how our hearts hold their pace,
Stretched to the limit, beyond mere belief,
As you steal me blind, suck love like a thief.

One moment you’re with me, an overwhelming relief,
The next you are gone, I’m left shattered with grief.
As the sun sinks away and darkness pervades,
You rise up before me, in shadows and shades.

We spend every night with love’s chattels and trades,
Until dawn arises and mocks our charades,
You disappear like a wraith or a ghost,
Leaving me wondering a desolate coast.

****

The Prompt today is to write an Aucade – “These are morning poems, about dawn and daybreak. Many aubades take the form of lovers’ morning farewells,” – hope you like my effort! 🙂

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane
As per this blog’s copyright statement

10 comments on “Darkness To Dawn – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 6 (to prompt)

  1. Okay, I’m not much for end rhyme, but this is done so well I found it almost soothing in its tone. More than that, it isn’t just a morning farewell, it is a detailed portrait of the grief process: the back and forth denial, bargaining, what if’s, depression and sadness, the constant seeking for why, even the blaming and some anger. In other words, the constant movement from dark to light and back again. Hats off to you, Rob, I’m impressed,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob, this was beautifully written! i loved the line “Sigh as I turn to take up your space” what an extremely poetic way to convey the empty space. Just a lovely work of poetry. You captured the prompt perfectly, too!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

