Wise Choices – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 1

I guess it’s too late to live within music,
I know it’s too late to make it my life,
To sit and to dream as my fingers play on,
That time’s passed me by, now way long gone.

I guess it’s too late to live as a doctor,
Healing the sick, helping the lame,
The study’s too long, I’ll now never make it,
The choice that I made now glaringly naked.

I guess it’s too late for many viewed options,
Yet thinking of all that I’ve done on my way,
Brings a smile to my lips, a song to my heart,
And I know I chose wisely, right from the start.

****

© Copyright 2015 Robin McShane
Please see this blog’s copyright statement

5 comments on “Wise Choices – NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 1

  1. You had me right from the start. I was arguing with you throughout those first two stanzas. My mother was a housewife until she was 62, when she found a teacher and began to paint. She had two public showings and her beautiful landscapes have been dispersed throughout the family. She showed all of us that it’s never too late. I myself didn’t begin to write poetry until I was almost forty. But then I read your last stanza and had to agree with you completely. Some of us always know, others sit on fences for years, lol. Thank you for your visit to my site and your encouraging comments,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment and visit! Had to smile as I imagined your reaction to the first two stanza! So pleased it was resolved with the last one! 🙂 However, truth be told, and in hindsight (the perfect 20/20!) I cannot really say all my choices were the wisest but they were the best ones I could make at the time being the person I was then, thinking as I did then – and so we grow and learn! What an awesome example your mother set! I guess it’s really a question of everything in, and for, its own time. Stunning!
      Thanks again and, hopefully, we’ll chat soon as we go through the next 30 days! 🙂

      Like

I'm Listening...Would love to hear your comment!

